Living and working in Valais

The decision to settle down in a new place has extensive implications and needs to be well thought out. The big city and the countryside each offer different advantages. Valais lets you combine the two: urban centres can be reached quickly thanks to reliable transport connections, while nature and recreation are right on your doorstep. On this page you will find practical information to make starting your new life in Valais easier. This is a place where you can concentrate on life in peace: welcome to the sunny side!

Valais in a nutshell

Geography

Work and recreation are closely intertwined in this canton in the south-west of Switzerland. And unlike urban centres such as Zurich or Geneva, Valais stands out with its low cost of living. The excellent public transport connections with the rest of Switzerland and Europe guarantee fast and wide-ranging mobility. City or countryside? Valais is both a hub and a retreat – dynamic and relaxing at the same time.

Way of life

Although you don’t have to worry about culture shock, a little preliminary information about the character of the Valais’s residents couldn’t hurt. Besides the local Swiss-German dialect, “Walliserdeutsch”, the people of Upper Valais are defined by their down-to-earth attitude, conviviality, kindness and strength of character. Traditions and customs including cow fighting and the colourful carnival are still alive and well here. A lively arts and culture scene offers exhibitions, events and performances on stages of all sizes to round out the cultural offer.

Industry

Valais lives from its landscape and its expertise in making the most of it. The variety of natural resources and the unspoilt natural landscape are also essential assets for tourism, one of the most important contributors to the economy. A strong energy industry uses the huge water reserves in the mountains for environmentally-friendly electricity generation. Valais is home to large, internationally-active companies as well as numerous SMEs operating within a wide variety of sectors including commerce, industry, construction andagriculture.

First steps

Good to know!

New land, new customs. In Valais, there are some particularities and features that one should be aware of in everyday life. “Good to know” suggestions can be found here and are sorted by category.

Registration required

Housing

To live or work in Switzerland for more than three months, a permit is required. There are short-stay permits (L permit, up to one year), residence permits (B permit, limited stay), settlement permits (C permit, unlimited stay) and cross-border commuter permits (G permit). 

Additional information

Looking for a flat

Housing

People who move to Valais usually rent a flat. Newspapers and the Internet provide valuable services in the search for suitable rental properties. For example, some larger municipalities display available properties in a “housing market” on their websites. Smaller municipalities may be able to provide verbal information about vacant flats.

Additional information

Health insurance

Health

All Swiss residents must take out their own basic health insurance plan. New arrivals in Switzerland have three months to take out a policy. If you fall ill during this time, the costs are covered retroactively. Basic health insurance is offered by numerous private health insurance providers.

Additional information

Opening an account

Money & taxes

In Switzerland, your salary is usually transferred into your bank account. For private individuals, there are various offerings available from the numerous banks and Swiss Post. Fees, interest and benefits vary, which is why it is worth comparing them in advance. It is usually free to open an account.

Additional information

Driving licence

Mobility

Anyone who moves to Switzerland and already has a driving licence from another country must have it converted into a Swiss driving licence within 12 months. The canton is the responsible authority. In Valais, the application must be submitted to the Cantonal Office for Road Traffic and Shipping.

Additional information

Social benefits

Working

Social insurance is financed by the inhabitants of Switzerland and are usually compulsory. Contributions are deducted directly from the employee’s salary. In general, the deductions amount to around 12–18% of the gross income. Employers, the self-employed and those not currently in work also make financial contributions.

Additional information

Work permits

Working

The conditions for obtaining a work permit depend on your country of origin. EU citizens benefit from bilateral agreements that enable them to enter Switzerland and change their employer or place of residence. All foreign nationals must have a residence and work permit before starting work. You can apply for this at the residents’ registration office (Einwohnerkontrolle) of your municipality.

Additional information

Taxes

Money & taxes

Taxes are levied at three levels: municipal, cantonal and federal. A distinction is made between direct and indirect taxes. Direct taxes are relatively low by international standards, although social insurance contributions are not collected through the tax system, but through other channels. Your primary residence is used as the place of reference for direct taxes.

Additional information

Personal liability insurance

Money & taxes

Liability insurance is not compulsory. Nevertheless, it is strongly recommended that you take out personal liability insurance. This is because you are liable for any damage caused intentionally or unintentionally, or if persons, animals or property for which you are responsible cause damage to third parties.

Additional information

Opening hours

Living

In Valais, shops are free to organise their own opening hours as long as they comply with the specified closing times. Many shops are open until 6.30pm on weekdays and until 5pm on Saturdays. Shops in petrol stations, railway stations or in large tourist resorts (seasonal), which are normally open seven days a week and usually open earlier and close later.

Additional information

Moving

Housing

In principle, if you move to Switzerland, you can take your household effects, collections, pets and car with you duty-free. Any items you bring must have been in use for six months before the move, and you must continue to use them afterwards. Many removal companies also take care of customs clearance.

Additional information

Accident insurance

Insurance

Employees who work more than eight hours a week are automatically insured by their employer against accidents in their work and leisure time. Employees who work less than this are not insured against accidents in their leisure time and must take out their own accident insurance.

Additional information

The ABC of municipalities

It’s beautiful everywhere in Valais. The ABC of municipalities will help you find the place with the perfect living conditions for you. It contains portraits that provide an initial overview of the 63 municipalities in German-speaking Valais, divided into districts.

Visp Brig Martigny Monthey Sierre Sion

Leben und Arbeiten im Wallis

Der Entscheid für einen neuen Lebensmittelpunkt ist weitreichend und will durchdacht sein. Die Grossstadt bietet andere Vorteile als das Land. Im Wallis lassen sich diese kombinieren: Während urbane Zentren dank zuverlässigen Verkehrsanbindungen schnell erreichbar sind, liegen Natur und Erholung gleich vor der Haustür. Auf dieser Seite finden sich praktische Informationen, die den Start und das Leben im Wallis erleichtern. Einem Ort, an dem man sich in Ruhe auf das Leben konzentrieren kann. Willkommen auf der Sonnenseite!

Das Wallis in Kürze

Lebensraum

Arbeit und Erholung liegen im Kanton ganz im Südwesten der Schweiz unglaublich nah beieinander. Und ganz anders als in städtischen Ballungszentren wie Zürich oder Genf behauptet sich das Wallis mit tiefen Lebenshaltungskosten. Die ausgezeichneten Verbindungen des Öffentlichen Verkehrs mit dem Rest der Schweiz und Europa garantieren eine grosse Mobilität in kurzer Zeit. Stadt oder Land? Das Wallis profiliert sich als Ausgangspunkt und Rückzugsort – dynamisch und erholsam zugleich.

Lebensart

Mit einem Kulturschock muss man nicht rechnen, doch ein paar Vorinformationen zum Wesen der Walliserinnen und Walliser können nicht schaden. Neben dem urigen Dialekt, dem «Walliserdeutsch», sind es die Bodenhaftung und Geselligkeit, Liebenswürdigkeit und Charakterstärke, die das Walliser Volk ausmachen. Ausserdem werden hier Traditionen und Bräuche gelebt. Ergänzt wird das kulturelle Angebot durch eine lebendige Kunst- und Kulturszene mit zahlreichen grossen und kleinen Bühnen, Ausstellungen und Events.

Menschen mit Wurzeln, Herz und Charakter

Wirtschaft

Das Wallis lebt von seiner Landschaft und dem Know-How, sie zu nutzen. Die natürlichen Ressourcen und eine intakte Naturlandschaft sind nicht nur Grundlage für den Tourismus, einen der wichtigsten Wirtschaftszweige. Eine starke Energiewirtschaft nutzt die Wasserreserven in den Bergen zur Stromproduktion. Grosse international tätige Unternehmen und eine Vielzahl an KMU decken die unterschiedlichsten Branchen in Gewerbe, Industrie, Bauwesen und Landwirtschaft ab.

Innovation und Fortschritt inmitten der Berge

Erste Schritte

Gut zu wissen!

Neues Land, neue Sitten. Im Wallis gibt es einige Eigenheiten und Besonderheiten, auf die man im Alltag achten sollte. Alles, was gut zu wissen ist, finden Sie bei den entsprechenden Themen an dieser Stelle.

Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Wohnen

Um länger als drei Monate in der Schweiz zu wohnen oder zu arbeiten, ist eine Bewilligung erforderlich. Es gibt die Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung (Permis L, bis 1 Jahr), die Aufenthaltsbewilligung (Permis B, befristet), die Niederlassungsbewilligung (Permis C, unbefristet) oder die Grenzgängerbewilligung (Permis G).

Weitere Informationen

Wohnung suchen

Wohnen

Wer ins Wallis zieht, mietet üblicherweise eine Wohnung. Bei der Suche nach geeigneten Mietobjekten liefern Zeitungen und Internet wertvolle Dienste. So etwa zeigen einige grössere Gemeinden auf ihrer Internetseite verfügbare Immobilien in einem Wohnungsmarkt an. Kleinere Gemeinden können allenfalls mündlich über freie Wohnungen Auskunft geben.

Weitere Informationen

Krankenversicherung

Gesundheit

Alle Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der Schweiz müssen zwingend selbständig eine Krankenversicherung (Grundversicherung) abschliessen. Wer in die Schweiz zieht, hat dafür drei Monate Zeit. Wird man in dieser Zeit krank, werden die Kosten auch rückwirkend getragen. Die Grundversicherung wird von zahlreichen privaten Krankenkassen angeboten.

Weitere Informationen

Ein Konto eröffnen

Geld & Steuern

In der Schweiz wird der Lohn in der Regel ausschliesslich auf das Konto überwiesen. Für Private gibt es verschiedene Angebote von den zahlreichen Banken und der Post. Gebühren, Zinsen und Leistungen sind unterschiedlich, weshalb sich vorab ein Vergleich lohnt. Die Eröffnung eines Kontos ist normalerweise kostenlos.

Weitere Informationen

Führerausweis

Mobilität

Wer in die Schweiz zieht und bereits einen Führerausweis aus einem anderen Land besitzt, muss diesen innerhalb von 12 Monaten in einen Schweizer Führerausweis umwandeln lassen. Im Wallis muss das Gesuch bei der kantonalen Dienststelle für Strassenverkehr und Schifffahrt eingereicht werden.

Weitere Informationen

Sozialleistungen

Arbeiten

Die Sozialversicherungen werden durch die Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner finanziert und sind meistens obligatorisch. Die Beiträge werden den Angestellten direkt vom Lohn abgezogen. Im Allgemeinen entsprechen die Lohnabgaben rund 12-18% des Bruttoeinkommens. Auch Arbeitgeberinnen und Arbeitgeber, Selbständige und Nichterwerbstätige leisten finanzielle Beiträge.

Weitere Informationen

Arbeitsbewilligung

Arbeiten

Die Bedingungen für eine Arbeitsbewilligung sind abhängig vom Herkunftsland. EU-Bürgerinnen und -Bürger profitieren von den bilateralen Abkommen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, in die Schweiz einzureisen sowie den Arbeitgeber oder den Wohnsitz zu wechseln. Für alle gilt: Vor Arbeitsantritt ist es notwendig, über eine Aufenthalts- und Arbeitsbewilligung zu verfügen.

Weitere Informationen

Steuern

Geld & Steuern

Steuern werden auf drei Ebenen erhoben werden: Gemeinde, Kanton und Bund. Man unterscheidet direkte und indirekte Steuern. Die direkten Steuern sind im internationalen Vergleich relativ tief, wobei aber Sozialabgaben nicht über das Steuersystem, sondern auf andere Wege erhoben werden.

Weitere Informationen

Haftpflichtversicherung

Geld & Steuern

Die Haftpflichtversicherung ist nicht obligatorisch. Trotzdem ist es unbedingt zu empfehlen, eine Privathaftpflichtversicherung abzuschliessen. Denn man haftet bei gewollt oder ungewollt zugefügtem Schaden und auch, wenn Personen, Tiere oder Sachen, für die man die Verantwortung trägt, einen Schaden gegenüber Dritten verursachen. 

Weitere Informationen

Öffnungszeiten

Leben

Im Wallis sind die Läden frei in der Gestaltung der Öffnungszeiten, solange sie die vorgegebenen Schliessungszeiten einhalten. Wochentags haben viele Geschäfte bis 18.30 Uhr geöffnet, samstags meist bis 17 Uhr. Läden an Tankstellen, in Bahnhöfen oder grossen Tourismusorten öffnen meist früher und schliessen später.

Weitere Informationen

Umzug

Wohnen

Grundsätzlich kann man bei einer Wohnsitzverlegung in die Schweiz die Hausratsgegenstände, Sammlungen, Tiere und das Auto abgabenfrei mitnehmen. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass diese Dinge bereits 6 Monate lang genutzt wurden und auch nach der Einfuhr weiterhin benützt werden. Viele Umzugsunternehmen übernehmen auch die Verzollung.

Weitere Informationen

Unfallversicherung

Versicherungen

Angestellte sind automatisch durch den Arbeitgeber gegen Unfälle während der Arbeit und der Freizeit versichert, wenn sie mehr als 8 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten. Die monatlichen Prämien werden direkt vom Lohn abgezogen. Wer weniger arbeitet, ist gegen Unfälle in der Freizeit nicht versichert und muss sich selbst um die Unfallversicherung kümmern.

Weitere Informationen

ABC der Gemeinden

Schön ist es überall im Wallis. Mit dem ABC der Gemeinden findet man heraus, wo für einen persönlich die Lebensbedingungen optimal sind. Wir verschaffen einen Überblick: Vorerst mit den Portraits der 63 Gemeinden im deutschsprachigen Wallis, gegliedert nach Bezirken.

Visp Brig Martigny Monthey Sierre Sion